The useful finding
A planning appeal does not always bring a fresh opportunity for neighbours to comment. In a review of six selected council appeal-information pages, one explicitly connected the application date of 1 April 2026 with the Part 1 written-representations procedure. Two referred to original public comments being considered or forwarded. These are counts of information on six specified pages, not a ranking of councils or a measure of residents' access to justice. [A01–A06]
The practical question is therefore more specific than “has an appeal been made?” Residents need to establish the procedure assigned to that appeal and read its notification. This study extends our earlier research on submitting planning comments to the later appeal stage.
Start with the appeal procedure
The Planning Inspectorate's current guidance distinguishes two written routes. Under Part 1, interested people cannot submit fresh comments: their application-stage representations are passed on and considered, with an option to withdraw them. Other procedures, including Part 2, hearings and inquiries, provide an opportunity to comment. The current Part 2 timetable describes five weeks from the appeal start date. The Inspectorate can change a case's procedure. Use its latest notification and timetable rather than calculating from a generic webpage. [N01, sections 6.2, 8 and 9]
The Inspectorate's separate guide for interested people explains that most appeals relating to applications dated from 1 April 2026 use Part 1. It links both the pre-April and post-April procedural guides. That makes the underlying application's date relevant; the date a resident happens to discover the appeal is not a substitute. [N02, introduction]
This is about participating in an applicant's appeal. It does not create a neighbour's right to appeal a permission they dislike. [A03, A04, A06; N01, section 3.3]
What the selected pages say
Camden
Explicitly identifies 1 April 2026, applications submitted from that date, Part 1 and original public comments. Its restriction on new comments must be read in that stated procedure context. [A01]
Hackney
Directs neighbours to national guidance and describes the council's notification role. The selected appeals page does not itself explain the Part 1/Part 2 distinction. [A02]
Wandsworth
Explains who can appeal and outlines written, hearing and inquiry routes. The selected page does not state the April application-date distinction. [A03]
Southwark
Describes forwarding original comments and also gives a general six-week instruction for new comments. That generic instruction should not be used instead of the appeal's current procedure and notification. [A04, N01–N02]
Islington
The selected post-decision page mainly addresses applicants and appeal time limits. It does not explain whether neighbours can send fresh appeal comments. [A05]
Kensington and Chelsea
The selected post-decision page distinguishes an applicant's appeal from third-party challenges. It does not explain Part 1 comment restrictions. [A06]
“Not stated” means absent from the chosen page, not absent from the council's website, letters or casework. The selected pages have different purposes, including applicant-facing guidance, so they should not be combined into a performance score. Hackney also includes a specific inquiry notice describing participation, and Wandsworth names several procedures. These are useful counterexamples to any claim that alternative participation is never mentioned. Our fifth field asks only whether the page explicitly contrasts fresh-comment opportunities in other procedures with Part 1.
Why a general invitation can be insufficient
Southwark's selected page gives a broad invitation to send new comments. A supplementary Hackney committee page also describes a further commenting opportunity without a procedure qualification in that passage. The national guidance distinguishes routes where that opportunity exists from Part 1, where it does not. [A04, S01, N01–N02]
This is a reason to verify the actual appeal route. It is not evidence that a council failed to notify a resident, that any comment was excluded, or that a planning decision was affected. We did not inspect individual notification letters or ask councils to explain their webpages. The supplementary Hackney page is outside the six-page counts.
A practical check before doing more work
1. Locate the official appeal reference and the notification about that appeal.
2. Identify the procedure and the applicable timetable in that notification. If unclear, ask the Planning Inspectorate's case contact to clarify.
3. Keep a copy of your earlier application-stage representation and its receipt. Check how the notification describes its transfer.
4. If further comments are invited, respond to the actual issues and follow the specified route and deadline.
5. If no fresh representations are invited under Part 1, do not assume an online submission box or general council webpage creates a further opportunity.
NeighbourObjection's paid document-preparation service is for eligible current planning applications; it does not supply appeal representations or reopen decided applications.
For a planning application that is still at the council-comment stage, see our deadline guide. The application and appeal stages use different procedures.
What the research did—and did not—measure
We inspected one fixed official appeal or post-decision page for each of the programme's six existing priority boroughs: Camden, Hackney, Wandsworth, Southwark, Islington and Kensington and Chelsea. The sample was selected for programme continuity, not randomly. All six are London boroughs. We read the pages refreshed on 25 October 2026 and coded only explicit information.
The review is exploratory and was not preregistered. Some retrieved web text may be cached. It does not measure how many residents read these pages, the completeness of council correspondence, response times, accessibility conformance, legal compliance or the outcome of appeals. No accounts, submissions, forms, payments or customer records were used.
The original question concerns guidance about appeal participation. We did not recode the earlier eight-council study's login, privacy or application-comment findings. This is a different sample boundary and a different research question, so its counts must not be presented as a trend against the earlier report.
Sources, interests and corrections
The companion observation file, source register, method and calculation script record the six URLs, coding definitions and exact source sections. Only explicit YES entries are counted; NOT_STATED is retained separately.
This research was prepared using ChatGPT for NeighbourObjection, a commercial planning-document preparation business. It provides educational information; the existing paid offer and eligibility scope have not been extended to appeal representation. The study does not claim council endorsement or professional review. A separate ChatGPT source review checked the report, method and all six observations against the official pages and reproduced the counts. This was not professional planning or legal review.
Contains public sector information licensed under the Open Government Licence v3.0. See the licence. Source-page wording has been paraphrased. No planning drawings, personal submissions or address-specific case records are reproduced.
For corrections, email hello@neighbourobjection.co.uk with the affected statement and an official source. Approved changes should retain the original observation version, identify the changed row and checking date, recompute the findings and update the report together.
Download the research evidence
Reproduce the counts (JavaScript)
NeighbourObjection's paid document-preparation service is for eligible current planning applications; it does not supply appeal representations or reopen decided applications.